3A.M. Thoughts – Anya Matossian

Darling, will I ever tire of you?
Will my lips grow weary
Or my bones grow weak
Or may my heart silence of its lustful melody?
Shall my desire endure,
Forever to crave the sensation
Of your flesh on mine.
Lord, let me just rest here
A few more thousand years
Just watching his chest rise and fall
Loving him each second just a little more
Heavy with the warmth of the affection he lent me
That he embroidered to my skin so discreetly and sweetly.

I pray these days will never cease,
For I do dread the day
When memory fades
When I misplace summer days
Amongst tedious saccades.
When once rolling fields succumb to deadlines and numbers
The dreaded beginning of days replace our contented slumber.

When all that I desire
Is to live the rest of my hours
Telling you how much I adore you!
Immersed in you, my love, I do implore you –

Remember to hold me close
For these nights are long
And the darkness holds no comfort quite as that of skin on skin.
And darling, remember we are weak
Encased in shells that do not keep
Each moment in which I’m wrapped in you
Is a moment that grows more precious
With the passing of each breath.

About aloudqmu

Aloud is a monthly poetry and spoken word open mic night, and literary magazine. We are based in Glasgow University's Queen Margaret Union, Glasgow, Scotland, UK. Here we wish to publish performance videos from our open mic nights, event updates, and the writing featured in our monthly Aloud Magazine, and some of the writing that didn't quite make the final cut.
This entry was posted in Aloud Magazine Issue 03 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

